1965 thompson off shore.

Suggestions, concerns, and what is the correct power plant for your Thompson.

Moderators: a j r, TDockside, Miles, Moderators

MICHAEL HONERKAMP

1965 thompson off shore.

Post by MICHAEL HONERKAMP »

HOWDY,

I AM NEW TO WOODEN BOATS BUT I HAVE BEEN A BOATER FOR 40 YRS.
I JUST PICKED UP A 1965 20'OFF SHORE. I AM GOING TO NEED HELP
FINDING SOME OF THE PARTS I NEED TO RESTORE THIS BOAT. ONE THING I KNOW I'LL NEED IS THE CENTER SUPPORT FOR THE WINDSHIELD
ANY ONE KNOW WHERE I CAN GET SOMETHING LIKE THIS OR DO I HAVE TO TRY TO HAVE IT MADE? I ALSO NEED A COUPLE PIECES OF HARDWARE. WHO CAN I CONTACT FOR THESE? I KNOW I'LL NEED MORE HELP IN THE FUTURE AND I AM LOOKING FORWARD TO ATTENDING THE THOMPSON RALLY.

THANKS IN ADVANCE
MIKE
Thanks
Mike
a j r

Post by a j r »

Hi and welcome.

Is this a wooden or aluminum framed windshield?

Hardware such as cleats and chocks and lights were pretty generic. Thompson used pasrts from many suppliers such as Perko, Kainer, Wilcox-Crittenden, etc... I know they used Kainer and Attwood parts on some of the boats in 1965.

Watch ebay auctions etc... to try and find stuff.

I restored last year a 1965 Thompson Bros. Sea Lancer 18 footer. She had a M-6250 Attwood bow light and was supposed to have a Kainer 6006 stern light. T-8 Kainer cleats were common for the 1965 models along with T-6 chocks.

Andreas
MICHAEL HONERKAMP

'65 OFF SHORE

THANKS FOR THE REPLY.....

THE WINDSHIELD FRAME IS ALL WOOD AND THE FRONT WINDOWS SLIDE OUT..

I AM LOOKING FOR THE COVER PLATE FOR THE TOGGLE SWITHES ON THE DASH FOR THE BLOWER ,BILGE PUMPS ETC....

I AM LOOKING FOR ONE KLEAT... APPROX 5"-6" LONG WITH THE TOP CENTER CUT OUT....

KIND OF LOOKING TO NEXT SUMMER.... HOW MANY PEOPLE AND BOATS USUALLY ATTEND THE THOMPSON RALLY?

THANKS MIKE
Thanks
Mike
a j r

Post by a j r »

Anyone with a 1964 or 1965 Thompson (Peshtigo) that has a wooden windshield please help Michael with his windsheild question.