stain need clarificaction from all you experts

Questions/concerns/issues. How did the other guy do it? Find out here.

Moderators: a j r, TDockside, Miles, Moderators

jim hays

stain need clarificaction from all you experts

Post by jim hays »

Blieve me guys I do trust your guidence. Im new at this, after reading dannenbergs book he states use a oil base stain, and I get a answer to the use of cpes and stain from rot doctor to use a water base stain (min-wax)!!!. I know this has probably been hashed over before but Im not near ready to do this(staining) but I cant start puting in the transom and use my just aquired cpes because of the weather forcast here for the next week (hot) 100+ possible so I will wait. I have been makeing a file so I can go to it when the time comes. Oh by the way Andreas would you happen to have the phone number of George Kirby paint I like the lemonaid yellow even if it wasnt used on my model I fell it really sets off the boat more than the white, 59 sea coaster, if not I will dial 411, I want to ask them some questions. Again thanks for the input guys. Jim Hays
a j r

Kirby Paint info

Post by a j r »

George Kirby, Jr. Paint Company, 163 Mt. Vernon Street, New Bedford, MA 02740, phone: 508-997-9008, www.kirbypaint.com.

Tell George IV that Andreas sent ya.

Andreas
jim hays

stain clarification

Post by jim hays »

thanks Andreas for the address, comeon guys Im still waiting on some guidence. I promise I will try and be quiet for awhile. Jim Hays
a j r

Post by a j r »

I have always used oil based stains, even for millwork and doors, etc.. in my house. I have used CPES on new Okume plywood and then stained it with Z-Spar oil based stain with success.

I have never used water based stains for anything, so I have no expereince with 'em and cannot comment.

Andreas
Darrell Van Eck

Post by Darrell Van Eck »

Jim: