1962 Seacoaster renovation questions

Questions/concerns/issues. How did the other guy do it? Find out here.

Moderators: a j r, TDockside, Miles, Moderators

pennelli

1962 Seacoaster renovation questions

Post by pennelli »

Hi,
I am just starting to plan restoration of a 16' 1962 Seacoaster I inherited from my father. It's actually in extremely good condition so I'll hopefully have it running this summer. I'm new at this so forgive me for the novice type questions.

1.) It has a 75HP Johnson on it that was never very reliable. We'll keep it for possible show purposes, but can we get away with a 50 or 60HP new engine? What size would be adequate?

2.) There is a little dry rot in the front keel area a boat restoration company told us about. They said it just needs some epoxy. Any product and procedural recommendation on how to do this?

3.) It would be nice to keep all the original parts intact, but if we use a new engine, is it possible to use the old tach or do we need to add a new tach? Obviously we'll need to substitute the new throttle for the old.

4.)We are concerned with the safety of the cable steering mechanism and would like advice about replacing it with a mechanical system. Again, can we leave the cables in place and just disconnected? How have people handled this?

Any advice/experience would be greatly appreciated so we can get our project going. Thanks!

Karen
john

Post by john »

The old 75 can be replaced very easily with 40 to 60 hp newer outboard. The biggest problem is the mounting holes if you go back and forth with engines. The 75 should be very reliable, just thirsty with gas.

The old tack will probably not work with a newer engine.

I would keep the cable steering, it's is better in my opion than the newer cable. But most would disagree.